A New Boline

My new boline: “Crooked” from Brewan at The Metal Craft

I think that the right tools will come to you when you are ready to accept them.  That is the case with me and this boline I just received from Brewan of The Metal Craft.  It is absolutely everything I ever wanted in a boline:  sickle shaped (not crescent moon shaped!), white handled, elegant, and petite.  The facts that a skilled Pagan artisan hand made it and that it shares some detail harmony with my athame (the curved handle and the brass pommel) is just icing on the cake.

It’s been a long time in finding this tool, and I’ve considered dozens of options from retrofitting a garden sickle (not terribly pretty) or a birds beak paring knife (too kitchen witch) to acquiring this monstrosity, which–in addition to being enormous at 10 inches long and looking intensely menacing with its serrated inner edge–is practically ubiquitous among the pagan community.  Nothing ever felt right to me.  This one does.

Sickle blades are a little hard to manage, but I think their symbolism is important in Wicca, not only for the correspondence with the moon and the resonances with druidry, but for harvest imagery in ritual and hedgewitch ‘mundane’ use in the garden.  Almost the only thing I would have trouble using this for is candle inscription, but wax work is what I’ve dedicated my former athame to, so I’ve got no issues there at all!

I’ve spoken highly of Brewan’s work before, but when I wrote him to confirm payment I appended a little note saying that I had bought his Candle athame after years of passing up all sorts of tools that looked hyper-weaponlike or gimmicky, that I was struck by the elegance and character of his pieces, and that I could not wait to receive Crooked.  Brewan wrote back saying that he had long been “fascinated with arms and armor of all periods of history” but that he found “too many of the modern replicas made today were too gimmicky or mass produced and lifeless, even if they were artistically rendered.”  Therefore, it is his goal as a smith to make his pieces “with their own identity and personality”; “items that have an inner glow to them.”

I believe Brewan has met and exceeded his goal.  Every time I touch my athame, I marvel at how perfect it is.  It truly does have its own inner glow, and I’m pleased to find that my boline does, too.  Thank you, Brewan!

Leave a Reply

