Day 361: Animal Spirit Oil and Incense

Aw, boo.  Just when I thought I was done with all this moderately successful incense stuff.  I don’t think I’ll make up the incense.  When it comes time to using it, I think I’ll just burn a stick of sandalwood and a stick of patchouli at the same time.

Animal Spirit Oil
Blend the following oils and herbs into 1 ounce of safflower oil, grape seed oil, or vegetable glycerin:

  • 3 drops patchouli essential oil
  • 1 drop cinnamon essential oil
  • 1 drop eucalyptus essential oil
  • 5 drops vetiver or iris essential oil
  • A pinch of dried patchouli

Animal Spirit Incense

  • Handful of dried, powdered sandalwood
  • 2 tablespoons dried patchouli leaf
  • 2 tablespoons cinnamon powder

To these dry ingredients, mix in 5 drops of vetiver or iris essential oil and 2 drops of eucalyptus essential oil.

My animal spirit oil, sitting on my ritual hearth.

My animal spirit oil, sitting on my ritual hearth.

Since I have oodles and oodles of elemental oil and sabbat oil where I used a whole ounce of oil, I decided we’d just stick with drams here, so my oil is much more concentrated.  I used about 3 drops of patchouli, 2 cinnamon, 3 eucalyptus, and 3 of Scotch pine.  For whatever reason, the pine was calling me as being more ‘animal’ in this application.  Also, I didn’t have any vetiver or orris root.  It has a very nice, mellow scent over all.

Leave a Reply

