Potions in Action: Ritual Bath Spray

img_8657-768x512

If only my crafting was this photogenic.

Six years ago, I discovered Zum Mist’s aromatherapy sprays and tried my hand at making them.  I was pleasantly surprised at how well it worked and, for a time, sprayed the heck out of rooms and myself with my various creations.  But my day jobs since then have all had a no-scent policy.  These are in the interest of keeping people healthy, and since I have a student who goes into grand mal seizures in the presence of strong smells, I certainly don’t mind them that much.  And at home, I’ve switched to using ultrasonic diffusers which last longer and require less active work on my part.

But there are two things I use essential oil sprays for, and one of them is a “ritual bath in a bottle.”  While I usually do give myself a “spa day” before a coven ritual, it is hardly an intensive energetic cleansing.  I mostly just make sure that everything is shaved that should be shaved, my feet aren’t cracked with callouses, and my skin isn’t all dry and scaly.  (Gardnerians practice skyclad, folks.)  And, of course, I shower the morning of a ritual.  But there’s a lot of time and a lot of mundane worries and activities that occur between the time I shower and the time of ritual, and I don’t have time to take a quick shower, let alone a ritual bath.

But I do have time for a quick spray before I leave.  I just squirt a bit in the air and walk through the mist, visualizing it penetrating through my aura and clearing away any gunk.  Lately I’ve been using this blend, which I like.  Just about everything in it is cleansing, and the overall smell is bright, green, and lively.  Geranium and hyssop are florals, but grassier florals than something like rose or jasmine.  To me, they don’t make the overall smell terribly floral, but a friend recently caught a whiff of it and asked if I was wearing jasmine.  While I myself would not eliminate hyssop as I have always enjoyed it in a ritual bath, an admirable cleansing spray can be made with sage, rosemary, and lemon.  Those scents alone can put me in mind of a chicken dinner, so I might also add a tablespoon or two of vanilla extract.

While the sea salt does help prevent bacterial growth as well as being a key cleansing ingredient, I also like to add a splash of vodka to be on the safe side.  And I find that the alcohol helps broaden the scents of the oils.  That being said, I’ve never once had a water-only batch turn bad on me.

1 4-ounce Boston Round glass bottle with atomizer

2/3 ounce vegetable glycerin

1/4 teaspoon sea salt

1 ounce vodka or grain alcohol (optional, but nice)

40 drops sage essential oil

15 drops rosemary essential oil

15 drops lemon essential oil

12 drops geranium essential oil

10 drops hyssop essential oil

2 1/3 to 3 1/3 ounce distilled, spring, or reverse-osmosis water

Add the vegetable glycerin, salt, vodka (if using), and oils.  Fill the bottle with water up to where the top starts to curve to the neck, then cap it with the atomizer top and shake vigorously for several seconds to dissolve the salt and thoroughly mix the oils and the glycerin.  Shake again before using.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

