A Nifty Way to Store Incense Charcoal

What can't you do with a mason jar?

What can’t you do with a mason jar?

I got an e-mail yesterday after I released the incense post asking how I store my incense charcoal to keep it fresh, and thought I’d share my answer with everyone.

I use a 12-ounce mason jar.  They are exactly tall enough to fit a full cylinder of Three Kings, completely air tight if you use a canning lid, infinitely reusable, and just wide enough that you can fit a random cake or two around a new cylinder if you need to.  Prior to this, I used gallon-size Ziploc bags, which were fine, but they aren’t exactly airtight and they become black with dust over time, which means your hands get black every time you reach in to grab the charcoal roll.  With the mason jar, I usually just get my fingertips a little dusty, and that just wipes off.

So there you go.  A Pagan life hack!

3 thoughts on “A Nifty Way to Store Incense Charcoal

    • Oh! It isn’t the biggest deal, but if you leave the charcoal exposed to air, the saltpeter and things that cause it to light easily evaporate and/or oxidize from the charcoal surface and they become harder to light. If you go through a roll a month it isn’t terribly noticeable.

Leave a Reply

