Happy Yule 2014!

Bring back the sun!  The central Yule altar of Soma Sidhe's 2014 Yule ritual, after circle dropped, of course.

Bring back the sun! The central Yule altar of Hartwood Grove’s 2014 Yule ritual, after circle dropped, of course.

What a lovely Yuletide this has been!  I’ve gotten nearly all settled into my new apartment and have enjoyed lots of cozy evenings sipping a cup of mulled cider and reading.  We weren’t settled enough to deck the halls, but we rang in Yule in style nevertheless.  And I’ve enjoyed visiting lots of friends, attending their seasonal parties, and generally having a blast.

Yule culminated last night in a day spent entirely with my coven fellows.  I woke up well before dawn (not exactly a difficult task since sunrise was at 7:54 am this morning and I typically get up at 4:15 to make it to work), and drove up to Tacoma to help “drum in the sun” with coven sister W., her husband, and a whole bevy of assorted pagankind in Fireman’s Park.  It was wonderful!  I do love me a drum circle, and it was all I could do to not dance.  (This was a kindness to all assembled as my moves are largely reminiscent of Elaine Benes’s.)  Once the sun rose and the drums died down, we all tramped to Tacoma’s metaphysical store, Crescent Moon, for a potluck breakfast where I got to meet some great people.

I saw three ships come sailing in on Yuletide day in the morning!  This was the view of Tacoma Harbor from Fireman's Park a few minutes after sunrise on Yule.

I saw three ships come sailing in on Yuletide day in the morning! This was the view of Tacoma Harbor from Fireman’s Park a few minutes after sunrise on Yule.

And then I basically hung out with W. and her husband all day until it was time for Hartwood Grove’s circle.  It was truly a lovely circle.  Our new second, X., led it, and I thought it was wonderful.  The basic premise was a sort of meditation on the wheel of the year where everyone joined in active participation to work to increase the light and bring back the sun.  It was so elegant and well thought out, I asked X. to share the ritual so I can add it to my own book.  I think he was rather pleased at that.

Back home, I lit my own Yule candle which burned through the night to help light the path for the new sun.  It’s just gone out, and the sun burns strong in the sky.

Happy Yule!

Leave a Reply

