Hoodoo Honeypot Spells

The honeypot I created the night of the eclipse.

The honeypot I created the night of the eclipse.

If you’re familiar with a witch bottle, then I think the concept of a honeypot won’t be too difficult to fathom.  In a witch bottle, you take items representative of a person or place you’re attempting to protect–things like hair and nail clippings–and stuff them into a bottle with a lot of ‘negative stuff’ like rusty nails, needles, pins, broken glass, razors.  You cover it all with a corrosive liquid like vinegar or urine (or both), and bury it.  The idea is that negative energy directed to a person gets drawn there through the personal elements, gets shredded up by the sharps and eventually dissipates through the liquid into neutrality.  Honey pots are the same, but they draw positive energy towards a specific person for a specific purpose and help it to “stick.”  In other words, they “sweeten the odds” that a desired outcome will come to pass.

Interestingly, there’s a documented history of witch bottles in Britain, but no one’s yet found evidence of a positive version of it.  Contemporary honeypot spells actually come to us by way of Africa through the Caribbean syncretic religions and folkways like Hoodoo.  Now, these traditions and those of British Traditional Witchcraft do share different ethical parameters, but the honeypot spell is a practice that can be used no matter what your ethics are: just do what is acceptable within your tradition.

Obviously, a honeypot spell is going to require certain physical items.  At the very least, you’ll need:

  • A small-ish glass jar with a flat lid.  I prefer wide mouth jars in case I want to add a larger curio to the honeypot, and I like bail-wire closing tops like the jar shown above as opposed to American canning jars with a screw-top lid.  If honey gets on the screw threads, it will be hard to open the jar!  A flat top is necessary since you’ll be resting a candle on top.  This one is a 7-ounce Le Parfait Terrine Jar.
  • Honey: enough to fill your jar.  Obviously, you could get very specific here.  For instance, if I was in Maryland and wanted to effect a change in Texas, I might go through the trouble of getting honey from a Texan beekeeper.  Alternately, you could get honey from “single source” flowers if you wanted to pull on a certain flower’s energy.  I’ve pretty much always just used clover honey from a big ol’ 5-pound jug from Costco.  It’s been just fine.
  • A piece of paper.  Hoodoo tradition has typically linked this to skin color.  White for a Caucasian person, tan for a light-brown skinned person, brown paper bag for a dark-skinned person.  I typically just use white 3×5 cards because I have them on hand.  I suppose you could use green for a money spell, red for a love spell, or what have you.
  • Something to write with.  I typically use pencil because some inks run in the honey.
  • Herbs, curios, bodily stuff, etc.  Optional, really, but very fun.
  • At least one candle of an appropriate color.  I like 6-inch tall, 2-inch wide beeswax pillars since their center of gravity is low and they rest solidly without any holders.  I don’t recommend long tapers simply out of concern for fire safety:  if using tapers, cut them down to about 4 to 6 inches and use lots of wax drippings to anchor them to the jar lid.
  • Candle Dressing Oil appropriate to the spell’s purpose.

I actually start by making the candle dressing oil.  I like to use jojoba oil as the base for candle oils since jojoba is actually a wax and neatly absorbs into the candle’s own wax.  I filled a dram bottle about three-quarters full with jojoba and added essential oils to it.  Since this particular spell was to help me successfully land a job, I used a blend of four ‘success’ essential oils:  bergamot (for money and success), cinnamon (for attraction, money, and success), lemon balm for “sweet thoughts” and success), and ginger (for money, additional power, and success).  I used like 3-4 drops of bergamot and cinnamon, 5-6 of lemon balm, and 2-3 of ginger.  It smells wonderful.  Before I proceed with anything else, I rub a few drops of the dressing oil on my wrist pulse points as I hold my purpose in mind.

Marrying the items together

Marrying the items together

Next, I grab up the paper and the pencil.  You begin with writing the name of the spell’s object three times in a column, then you turn the paper clockwise 90 degrees and cross it with your name three times. For example, in the picture to the right, someone named Johnathan wants to work at Microsoft.  Therefore, he writes Microsoft three times, turns the paper, then writes his name over Microsoft’s three times, sort of forming a cross-hatch.  Then, around the names, you write the action desired in one continuous circle without lifting pen from paper.  The cursive skills come in handy here–just don’t dot the Is or cross the Ts until you’re finished…if you do so at all.  It’s best to keep the phrase short so that you’ll make a complete circle.  Here, Johnathan has written “hire me” around the names.

Now, what you’ll do is fold the paper towards you, then turn the paper clockwise 90 degrees, fold, and repeat until you cannot fold the paper anymore.  At this point, I like to drop a few drops of my anointing oil on the paper, but that’s optional.  I like to think it marries the purpose to the candle.

Now, before you put the paper in the jar, you fill the jar with other items to help your purpose. For example, in my eclipse honeypot, I added a lot of herbs: ground chicory to remove obstacles impeding the purpose, a cinnamon stick to draw attraction, money, and success, nettle to help break any hexes I or others have put on the outcome, rosemary to help my application and interview stay in the hiring team’s remembrance, and pecans for prosperity and employment.  I also added a few small stones.  There was a lodestone to help draw the job to me, amber to help choose and be chosen, rose quartz to improve confidence, citrine for its influence on wealth, education, and business, and fluorite for its energies of order and responsibility.  To this, I also added a few tokens, namely a little pencil to represent the fact I want to earn money through enhancing literacy, a little silver bee charm to represent me, a pysanky egg I wrote at my grandmother’s kitchen table (the specific job I want is located near her), and a Susan B. Anthony silver dollar, both for prosperity and because Anthony sought to give a voice to the disenfranchised and this job would essentially be teaching the disadvantaged that they are worthy of being heard and to show them how to use their voices.  On top of this, my High Priestess added a fair shake of Bay essential oil, which (to her at least) brings victory, as well as a few shakes of gold water (gold leaf flakes suspended in vodka) for prosperity.

With all the oddments in the jar, you fill it full with the honey, making sure you get right up to the top.  Then you slide you folded petition paper into the jar, eat a spoonful of the honey, and close up the jar.  Then, you take up your candle, inscribe it with your intent if you wish, then anoint it with your oil.  The one thing to keep in mind here is that instead of dropping the oil in the center of the candle and then twisting it out to both ends, you hold the candle so that the wick is facing you, drop the oil at the base, and then pull the oil towards the wick and you while you envision the goal coming to pass.  Basically, you draw that goal towards yourself.

Finally, fix the candle to the jar lid, and light it.  Now, what I have done in the past is to let the candle burn all throughout the first night after I create the spell.  Subsequently, I burn it for another handful of hours every night until the outcome is obtained or the matter otherwise concluded.  However, I believe Hoodoo practitioners burn on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays.  Alternately, you could just burn it on favorable days–all day on Friday for a love spell, for instance–or during a favorable hour of every day–the Venus hours in the day for that love spell.  You keep burning the same candle until the candle is spent.  If you need additional candles, light them from the remains of the first or incorporate a bit of the first’s wax into the second.

When I light the candle, I like to take a few minutes to breathe, meditate, and pray about the desired outcome coming to pass, and I envision various blocks to it dissolving away.  I like to see the energy released from the burning candle acting flying off into space to latch on to what it needs to in order to let the goal come to be.

When the spell has run its course, I like to wash up the jar in running, natural water.  I believe Hoodoo practitioners do away with the entire works, but I like to wash up the jar to re-use it and some of the ‘permanent’ components like the rocks.  In my mind, those rocks have been around for millions of years.  One little spell will not drain their resources.  I just let them rest in salt for a moon cycle to strip away that singular focus before I re-use them.

Leave a Reply

