Using Oil Diffusing Machines

A few years ago I wrote a post on using a candle-powered oil warmer.  It wasn’t much–just a few tips and tricks for using one safely.  But to this day, that post gets a surprising amount of traffic.  Clearly there’s lots of people out there interested in learning how to get the scents of their essential oils to permeate through a room.

It has, however, been some time since I pulled out the oil warmer.  Truthfully, I need something that I can pretty much ignore while I go about my business and focus my attention on reading, writing, or getting some other mental work done.  I was finding that I was neglecting the oil warmer and allowing all of the water to evaporate.  It only takes scrubbing the dickens out of polymerized oil a few times before you’d do just about anything to avoid doing it again.  So, for the past year or so, I’ve been largely relying on scented candles and incense.  Alas, I really hate scented candles and I am worried enough about smoke inhalation that I try to keep my incense-burning to special occasions only.

Well, a few weeks ago a reader turned me on to electric ultrasonic diffusers.  Use electronic frequencies to cause a small disk under the surface of a liquid (usually water) to vibrate at a very fast rate. These ultrasonic vibrations break the liquid into a vapor (usually steam).  In these diffusers, that steam then travels across a little dish holding a few drops of oil, and it carries that oil through the air.  A fairly nice video detailing the process can be seen below:

These diffusers seem like a good idea.  From my minimal research about the marketplace, it looks like the prices on them range from between $30 to $1000.  Most of the price difference just has to do with how ‘pretty’ the diffuser looks.  If plastic isn’t ringing your aesthetic bells, I’d suggest turning to eBay for some better prices.

Leave a Reply

