Whipping Up Necklaces to Add to the Bowl

Clockwise from top:  dyed howlite and red jasper, rose quarts and moss agate, blue quartz and carnelian, random tumbled nuggets.

Clockwise from top: dyed howlite and red jasper, rose quarts and moss agate, blue quartz and carnelian, random tumbled nuggets.

As I’ve mentioned before, it’s traditional in Gardnerian circle for women to wear claspless, beaded necklaces.  In the interests of modern equability and a mutual love of bling, the gentleman typically opt to join the ladies in this adornment.  Over time, individual practitioners tend to amass their own small private collection, but the practical High Priestess often also maintains a large collection for coveners who have left theirs at home or for guests or students to use.

I’m no High Priestess, but I do work across the street from the largest bead warehouse in the United States, and I’ve learned how to knot.  This is a dangerous combination.  I’ve made loads of necklaces for myself, my friends and family, and sometimes just because I couldn’t resist!  I’m starting to get quite a collection.  Most recently, I added a bunch of rose quartz beads to some left over moss agate from another project.  Another is a string of random nuggets that just looked fun.  A third is a lovely chunky string of rounded blue quartz cubes and large, organic carnelian nuggets.  None of them are exactly “every day” sorts of jewelry, so I’ve occasionally been playing with wearing some to influence my energies here and there.  I’ve particularly found the quartz/carnelian combo useful for giving me a steady, calm feeling of concentrated purpose.  I’m quite content and very productive when I wear it!

For the most part, though, I think I’m mostly curating this necklace collection for my future “emergency” bowl.  And I don’t mind that one bit.

Leave a Reply

