Day 358: Numerology and Magic

As Roderick notes, numerology can also be used to boost magic work.  He suggests that we distill the purpose of our spell to a single word, something like ‘love,’ ‘success,’ ‘understanding,’ and so on.  Then you analyze the numeric value of that word.  Love, for example, would be 3+6+4+5, which is 18 or 9.

Roderick then suggests we consult a table such as the one he provides below and use some of the correspondences listed for that number in the spell:

Screen Shot 2013-08-24 at 3.21.45 PMI have to admit, though, that I have no idea where Roderick got these particular correspondences from…and I have to admit that I don’t see a ritual that invokes Ereshkegal as the Goddess and Shiva as the God working out very well.

If I was to use numerology in my spell workings, I’d figure out the number for the core word and use that number somehow.  For example, with the love spell, I might choose to use 9 pink candles or repeat a chant 9 times or reinforce the spell every day for 9 consecutive days.  That seems like a far more concrete way to link numerology with spellcraft to me.

Leave a Reply

