My New Rune Set from Alaska Laser Maid

My new runes, courtesy of Etsy seller Alaska Laser Maid

My new runes, courtesy of Etsy seller Alaska Laser Maid

All this work with the Elder Futhark over the past few weeks has definitely sparked my imagination more than any rune work I’ve done in the past.  The more I worked with them, the more I realized I liked using runes in divination and in magic.  I also, however, quickly realized that the quick and dirty set I made for completing the Roderick exercises (index cards with the runes drawn on them in red Sharpie) left a lot to be desired.

This realization coincided with the return to Etsy of the pagan-friendly artisan Deborah Ross, aka Alaska Laser Maid.  Deborah had taken a temporary hiatus from Etsy earlier this year while she did battle with cancer, but she returns to her store cancer-free and full of great ideas.  Deborah specializes in creating wooden pieces and then engraving them very precisely with a 30 watt laser cutter/engraver. She does, however, occasionally turn her laser skills to glassware, fabrics, and vinyl, so the sky is truly the limit for her!  I, of course, think her ability to create beautiful rune tiles and boxes is unparalleled, and I’m thrilled that I’ve finally been able to support her incredible work.

The particular set I ended up choosing isn’t one I’d seen before.  Instead of longer staves, Deborah placed these runes on 1-inch square tiles of red-cedar, and then put them in a small cube of a box.  I was a little hesitant about choosing these, but I’ve found I really like the square tiles more than longer staves, which I’ve made for myself in the past.  I think they ‘shake up’ more thoroughly, and I’m pleasantly reminded of playing Scrabble with my grandfather whenever I reach for these runes.  I couldn’t be happier.  Oh!  And as an added bonus, Deborah includes a little sheet of rune meanings with her sets so that anyone can use them right out of the box.  Thanks, Deborah!

The full supply of the Elder Futhark runes in my 'rune cube.'

The full supply of the Elder Futhark runes in my ‘rune cube.’

3 thoughts on “My New Rune Set from Alaska Laser Maid

  1. These are STUNNING! I only recently purchased my first rune sets, one hematite and the other moonstone. I think am drawn to the wooden ones more but couldn’t find a set that seemed worthy. Thank you for posting these, as I think I’ve found it 😀

    • I’ve been around the rune gamut myself. I’ve used dowel chips that I woodburned at a workshop, FIMO clay (not recommended…very plastic feeling), a jade set a friend let me borrow, paper cards…nothing really felt right. Aside from this set being very pretty, they smell strongly of cedar. I think that’s what’s doing it for me. I get that strong hit of a natural smell when I first take them out, and that instantly puts me in an appropriate reading mindset. I have to admit, I love these runes!

  2. For what it is worth, I did leave a review on Deborah’s store about this rune set. I gave it a 4 of 5 stars only because the lacquer finish on the runes sort of lightly fused everything together by the time I got them. I got the runes unstuck and smoothed the finish down as best I could. After a couple weeks of letting the individual tiles sit out, I had no more issues.

    Deborah did contact me after I left the review stating that she’d found adding a second coat of lacquer meant she needed to leave a longer cure time, and she offered to have me send the set back to her for refinishing. I declined as I rather love my set as it is, but I think it shows just what a quality craftsman she is that she was willing to fix that for me.

Leave a Reply

