Day 331: Casting Freya’s Aett

Gather together all eight of Freya’s runes.  Turn them over so that you cannot see their inscriptions.  Stir the runes with your left hand while you look skyward.  Think of a question about which you would like some insight.  Hold both hands over the runes, look skyward, and say:

Guide my hand with the hand of fate,
Goddess drawn from Freya’s eight!

Draw a single rune for your answer.  Make the connection between your question and the rune symbol.  Now take action based on the insight you receive.

Well, I’ve recently been contemplating applying for a teaching job near where my family lives.  It sounds pretty great on paper:  I’d have a lot of autonomy in my teaching, opportunities to take classes, earn a living salary, and finally get good benefits.  The problem?  It’s in the middle of nowhere.  Not only is it 3,000 miles away from the life I’ve built here, but it’s also at least three-and-a-half hours away from the nearest Gardnerian coven, and I’m really worried that such a move would stymie my spiritual path.  I’ve grown quite fond of my West Coast community!

So the question I held in my mind was “should I apply for this job?”  Humorously, the rune I drew was ansuz.

There’s not much in the way of strong negativity in Freya’s Aett, so I was prepared to consider the outcome of this divination with a block of salt.  But drawing ansuz was so perfect.  It’s the rune of communication and has positive associations both with teaching and with spirituality…the two concerns that were most prominent in my mind.

I think I’ll apply.  If I do get it, I will at least be able to strengthen my family ties.  I don’t think I need to be worried about it dampening my spirituality!

Leave a Reply

