Day 316: Blessing the Mirror

Set up for the working.  Incidentally, with "spell" pictures like this, I pose them beforehand.  I kinda think it's bad juju to photograph a spell-in-process.

Set up for the working. Incidentally, with spell pictures like this, I pose them beforehand. I kinda think it’s bad juju to photograph a spell-in-process.

What You’ll Need:

  • Circle-casting tools
  • Magic mirror
  • A 5-6 inch purple taper candle
  • Dried white sage, frankincense, or dragon’s blood resin

Cast a circle as you have learned to do.  Sprinkle the mirror with your salt and water mixture, saying:

I consecrate thee, O creature of the Art, with the elements of water and of earth.

Carry the mirror to the west and then to the north of your circle.  At each quarter show the mirror to the elementals, saying:

(Undines/Gnomes), here me now; reflect the truth of thy knowing!

Return to the altar.  Sprinkle the hot coals in your brazier with your chosen incense (sage, frankincense, or dragon’s blood) and allow it to smolder.  Cense the entire mirror with this magical smoke, saying:

I consecrate thee, O creature of the Art, with the element of air and of fire.

Carry the mirror to the eastern and then to the southern quarters and show it to the elementals, saying:

(Sylphs/Salamanders), hear me now; reflect the truth of thy knowing!

Bring the mirror to the center of the circle and set it flat on the altar, with the dark mirror side facing up.  Using your white-handled knife (or a pin, if you do not have a white-handled knife), inscribe the word “vision” onto the purple candle, using Theban script.  Light the candle and place it in a holder.  Set the holder on top of the mirror’s surface.

Close your circle, but allow the candle to burn completely out.  Once the candle has extinguished, set the mirror again on your windowsill so that the moon can reflect its light upon the mirror’s surface throughout the night.

I performed this exactly as written above (which I altered from Roderick’s original slight in that I combined air and fire like water and earth, as is my practice), with the exception of using regular Roman script rather than Theban.   Gazing at the mirror now, I don’t feel like it’s one giant blank as I did before.  In fact, I do think the elemental forces are working just behind its surface.

Leave a Reply

