My New Bracelet

When I first dedicated myself to the Pagan path back around 1999, I–being a high school girl–did indeed have the impulse to wear nothing but long black dresses and drape myself with hubcap-sized silver pentacles. Luckily for the photographic retrospective of my life, I limited my black clothing to a variety of contemporary shirts and didn’t dare to even look at purchasing a pentacle until I was well ensconced in collegial life. I did, however, really want to wear some piece of jewelry as a token of my faith. Not more than six months after I decided I was dedicating, I learned that some followers of traditional witchcraft would wear wide silver bracelets, often with their magical names engraved on or inside the bracelet along with the sign of their attained degree. I decided that I would wear a silver bracelet, then, if I could find one that suited.

My bracelet serendipitously found me. While visiting my paternal grandmother that Christmas, I mentioned to her that I was looking for a silver bracelet and she almost instantly presented me with a lovely, simple Native American silver cuff set with a large carnelian cabochon. She said she had picked it up in a pawn shop on a gambling excursion in the southwest years before and that she never really ever wore it, since it looked too big on her small wrist.  It looked just fine on my much larger one, though.

My good friend Seth and me sharing a mirthful moment in Boone-Hutch cemetery.  You can clearly see my favored bracelet on my left hand.

My good friend Seth and me sharing a mirthful moment in Boone-Hutch cemetery in March, 2004. You can clearly see my favorite bracelet on my left hand.

I loved that bracelet.  I wore it almost constantly from that moment to one horrible day in the summer of 2004 where it slid off my wrist while swimming with my friends in the middle of Indiana’s Shoe Lake.  Unfortunately for me, the lake was deeper than any of us could dive, and you really couldn’t see much of anything after about 10 feet down anyway.  As far as I know, my bracelet is down there to this day, and I quietly mourn its loss every time I think about it.

I’ve not had a bracelet since then.  After staring at my grandmother’s every day for 6 years, nothing else looked right.  The bracelets I’ve variously tried on at different stores all looked too dainty for my tastes or seemed so delicate to hold up to my hard use.  Simple bands of unadorned silver, though, looked too masculine on my large wrists.  Many shapes and stone settings just looked too trendy for years of use.  I also have to admit that I’ve again been relying on serendipity to bring me to the right item, and serendipity is a fickle mistress.

My new bracelet with its larimar stone.

My new bracelet with its larimar stone.

Very recently, though, with all the preparations I was undertaking for initiation, I decided that I would like to again obtain a bracelet I could charge as a token of my faith. So I started to keep an eye out for a good candidate.

When I happened upon this bracelet, I knew I’d found a great contender.  Obviously, its overall shape and style are similar to my lost bracelet, though it has a third band and the setting around the cabochon isn’t fluted.  I also, however, really fell in love with the bright sky blue larimar stone.  After a few weeks of mulling it over, I decided to go ahead and purchase it.

I’m quite pleased with the acquisition overall.  While I sincerely doubt anything will completely fill the void left by losing my grandmother’s bracelet, I like the looks of this one, and it fits my anatomy nicely.  It looks feminine, but isn’t lost on my wrists, and it is very comfortable.  In fact, I almost forget that I am wearing it.  I do wish the silver bands weren’t as thin and malleable as they are, and I wish the silver was in better condition.  Unfortunately, a previous owner must not have known how to clean it, for it is covered in microscratches that prevent it from being cleanly polished, and there’s a large chip of silver missing from one of the bands.  It will certainly do, though, and I suppose I don’t have to be terribly fussy about keeping it in amazing condition.  Someday when I have more funds, I might inquire about melting down this bracelet and re-shaping it to better resemble my lost one.  But, of course, we shall see what we shall see.

I am, however, positively thrilled to once again be constantly wearing something that reminds me of my faith and of the commitments I’ve made to myself and others.  I had forgotten how good that felt.

Leave a Reply

