Day 248: Consecrating Your Athame

What You’ll Need:

  • Your usual circle casting tools and your athame
  • Fire incense (or use frankincense)
  • Fire oil (or one of the following oils:  cinnamon, bergamot, clove, orange, or pennyroyal)
  • A deep bowl of earth

To begin, prepare a small altar at the southernmost point of your sacred space.  Cast your magic circle.  Once the circle is cast, transfer your pentacle, incense burner, incense, fire candle, essential oil, and water, and salt bowls from the central main altar to the one you have prepared in the south.  Set the athame on your pentacle, kneel before the altar with your arms open to the sky, and say:

Lady and Lord, God and Goddess,
I bring before You this athame, ready to
Receive Your blessing, that it may ever
Be guided by Your hands–in the ways of nature.

Sprinkle water on the athame from hilt to blade-point and say:

Consecrated are you with the element of water.

Take a small portion of salt in your hand and rub it onto the hilt and blade, saying:

Consecrated are you with the element of earth.

Place a small amount of fire incense onto the hot coals of your censer.  Hold the athame over the smoke and say:

Consecrated are you with the element of air.

Hold the tip of the athame in the flame of the fire candle for 10-15 seconds.  While it is there say:

From fire, fire is made.  Consecrated are you with the element of fire, your brother.

Plunge the tip of the athame into the bowl of water and hold it there until the blade is completely cooled.

Finally hold the athame between the palms of your hands and imagine that you fill it with your own life energy. Rub the blade with fire oil, saying:

Consecrated are you in the art magical.

Your athame is now consecrated.  Plunge the blade into the deep bowl of earth and allow it to stay there for twenty-four hours.  Close your circle as usual, and use the athame in your ritual work from now on.

Upon doing this exercise, I flashed back to the first time I attempted a tool consecration–all the way back when I was still in high school. As Roderick supposes in his 366, it was one of my very first circles. It was a hot mess. I was so concerned with doing things right and saying the right things that the energy was very lacking. By the time I was done ‘consecrating’ my tools, I rather felt the whole thing had been a waste. Other than the fact that I now didn’t touch the objects unless it was for a ritual, nothing really felt different. The objects didn’t feel holy.

I now have an entirely different athame, pentacle, wand, and chalice since those days, and–believe it or not–I don’t believe I’ve actually ever gone through and thoughtfully consecrated them. I treat them as consecrated, and technically most of them have gone through a “consecration lite” method (by touching them to my High Priestess’s tools), but I’ve neglected to really go through and attend to it myself.

Consecrating my athame was an experience that wasn’t accompanied by spectacular magic, but things did change a little. In a way, it was like my tool was soaking up the water, salt, incense and flame I introduced it to, and then mingled them with my own energy and locked it up. Holding it now, I don’t necessarily feel like it’s more attuned to the element of fire, but it is definitely attuned to both me and the elemental powers, and visualizing energy movement with it is now several degrees easier. Very interesting.

Leave a Reply

