Day 228: Pentacle, Personal Symbol of Power

Just as we did on days 215, 220, and 224 with the wand, athame, and chalice, today we will do a meditation to find our pentacle’s personal symbol of power.

Reader:

Close your eyes and take several deep breaths.  Scan your body from head to toe and note wherever it is you hold tension.  As you note tension, breathe through that body part and release the tension.  Continue relaxing each body part until you feel wholly still and internally silent.

(Reader:  Pause for a moment.)

Once you are fully relaxed, imagine that you stand at midnight in the center of a stone circle.  A canopy of stars shimmers overhead.  As you watch the sky, you notice the stars beginning to move, slowly, almost imperceptibly at first.  Then they take on a life of their own and form a shining pentacle in the black sky.  The pentacle then takes on more substance and form, and it glows brightly with a green aura.  It drifts down form the nighttime sky into your hands.  You carry the pentacle with you and you hold it out to the silence saying, “I summon thee, O symbol of power!”  Son you will notice that the pentacle glows in your hands with a bright green aura.  Examine the pentacle now and you will see your power symbol inscribed there in glowing script.  Look at this symbol closely and remember it.

Once you have seen your personal power symbol, allow the vision of the stone circle to fade.  Open your eyes when you are ready.  Record the symbol on a blank piece of paper and transfer this to the pentacle, either painting it or magically infusing it.

When you have finished setting the personal power symbols on the pentacle, set it in a place of visual prominence for the remainder of the day.  Before going to bed, wrap the pentacle in a special cloth, such as green silk, and store it until it is time for the pentacle consecration.

My pentacle's personal symbol

My pentacle’s personal symbol

Well, it’s the middle of the holiday season, and I definitely felt all that tension as I began this meditation.  My lower back won’t relax for anything, and I’m currently nursing quite the neck crink.  In fact, I had to do this meditation lying on the floor!  It hurt too much to sit still that long!

Despite my relaxation issues, this symbol came flying to me the instant I summoned it.  I think it’s really appropriate, since I connect the earth element so much with grounding and centering, and the spiral of energy is one that strongly reminds me of being centered and present in the moment:  very earthly qualities.

I placed the paper I drew the symbol on top of my pentacle and passed it through some vanilla incense and above the flames of two anointed, green candles I inscribed with the spiral.  As I did this, I envisioned the symbol being transferred to my pentacle, and I left the pentacle between the candles until they burnt out.

Leave a Reply

