Day 214: The Wand, Inscriptions

The basic activity for today is inscribing one’s harvested wand with the following traditional markings:

I don’t know how traditional these sigils are, and apparently Roderick doesn’t either, for he carefully chooses to say “The supposedly traditional sigils first appeared on the Witch scene in the 1930s through Gerald Gardner” (my emphasis).  He says that these sigils were most likely derived from several occult sources such as Francis Barrett’s 1801 book The Magus and Kabalistic manuscript, The Key of Solomon.

My response to this can be summed up in one word:  Meh.

These are random scribblings that mean nothing to me, and I don’t know what they are supposed to mean.  For all I know, I could be writing the name of some crazy demon.  If I went through with this inscription, I’d only be doing it to slavishly follow instructions.  I think it would be far better to just hang on and do an inscription with my own personal symbols later.

3 thoughts on “Day 214: The Wand, Inscriptions

  1. The general consensus is that they originate in the Key of Solomon and are probably Hebrew “Names of Power” that became poorly copied through the centuries. They are quite old and very traditional, but as far as I know nobody can give a word-for-word translation of what they mean. It is highly unlikely they refer to a demon, however; most of the tools are inscribed with God names so as to provide protection to the operator.

    • Hi Raven! Thanks for your input. When I initially wrote this, my tone was mostly sarcastic. I certainly didn’t think they’d summon forth any demons! 🙂 My major beef with all of Roderick’s inscription exercises is that he instructs you to scribble them on your things without knowing what they mean, and I think that’s a little intellectually and magically sloppy.

      • You could probably get a similar effect using other symbols of magical protection. Having said that, when working with spirits or non-human intelligences I think it pays to go pretty by the book, because that is one area you don’t want to take chances with. I have not read Timothy Roderick’s book, but it sound like he’s taken a page out of Huson’s “Mastering Witchcraft” in recommending these sigils. I know Gardner used them, too, but they both learned of them via the Key of Solomon. Huson shows a slightly different set of sigils because he used an older translation than Gardner had access to.

Leave a Reply

