Crafting the Book of Shadows: Classing it up

In this series of posts about making and keeping magical records, I’ve been pretty consistent in emphasizing a working system over aesthetic beauty.  I will stick to my guns on this point:  there’s no point in trying to keep a magical record if you’re too scared to keep it on the grounds that it won’t be pretty enough or it will wreck the pretty book you’re trying to keep it in.  To this end, I’ve been offering practical solutions:  keeping ‘messier’ and more personal journals separate or online, using some sort of binder or disc-bound system to increase customization and editability, and using functional, reasonably priced Moleskine’s for more static work.

None of these are terribly beautiful on their own, though…and that certainly is something that can be missed if you still–after all this–still really, really want that gorgeous leatherbound text.

Well, you can–in fact–class up your function in a very easy way:  book covers.

This is, in fact, something that Levenger has been doing for years with their discbound system.  Every season they seem to be offering new leather or cloth colors or styles for their notebooks, and they are definitely quality.  If this is still more utilitarian than magical, though, other options can be found.  Artisans who list on Etsy can produce wonderful covers for Moleskines and disc-bound notebooks, for example, and so can many more commercial companies.

Two journal covers from Oberon Design.

One such company, Oberon Design, is now so popular among the pagan set that I might say that owning an Oberon piece has become a cliché.  Indeed, the company itself is quite aware of its pagan popularity and has, in the past offered pentagram-themed covers (and currently offers one in its Icon line of regular journal covers).

Today, Oberon Design offers beautifully crafted leather covers for e-Readers, iPads, and cell phones in addition to the journal covers it became known for.  The company now also offers journal covers in three sizes in addition to a cover for Moleskine journals (which are thinner than their other journal inserts).  They also offer a new Icon line for their large standard journal size.

I think that the Oberon Moleskine covers would be a wonderful way for me to dress up my static BOS.  At a price of $65.50, I’m not rushing out to buy it now, but I’ll definitely keep it in mind for the future.  I’m less certain about the company as an option for dressing up my dynamic BOS, though I do think its 9″ x 12″ XL covers would fit a standard letter-size Circa notebook (8 1/2″ x 11″) if I used 3/4″ rings.  As those covers are currently $124, though, I think I’ll save that for when I’ve become independently wealthy.  Until then, I might just decide to Hack my own covers, perhaps something like below.

A picture showing the interior of a homemade Circa cover. The black plastic came from the packaging for an electronic gadget, the base cardstock came from a notebook from the craft store, and the outside is a self-stick vinyl laptop skin. It still needs end papers, of course.

2 thoughts on “Crafting the Book of Shadows: Classing it up

Leave a Reply

