A wonderful representation of the Great Rite

A close up on the kiss. Nicely detailed work, wouldn’t you say?

While I was tooling about the Internet on one of my searches for a God representation, I came across this sculpture.  While it wasn’t quite what I was looking for, I did think it was perhaps the single best three-dimensional representation I’ve ever seen of the Great Rite, and it quickly vaulted it’s way to the top of my “If I had the money and the storage/display space, I’d buy this now” mental list.

I really can’t find anything concrete on who the artist behind this work is.  The manufacturer’s mark notes only that Jai Bhagavan in India mass produced it.  (Jai Bhagavan’s been making and internationally exporting statuary since 1978, for what it’s worth.)  Several websites that offer this sculpture say at the end of their description “design by Bose & Allen, copyright 2010,” but I can’t find this Bose and Allen anywhere.

Views from all four major angles. I have to admit, I’m quite impressed at the detail and craftsmanship of this sculpture.

Frankly, I’m of the mind that someone somewhere adapted images from Maxine Miller into this piece.  Looking at her drawings (or, in this case, the plaques that resulted from them) of the Triple Goddess and Cernunnos, you’ll see that the maiden has her left arm raised up and a bird is alighting on her palm, as does the moon goddess here.  Maxine’s maiden has chains wrapped about her middle.  The moon goddess here isn’t wearing as much as Maxine’s maiden, but she does have a chain wrapped about her middle, too.  The Cernunnos similarities are much more compelling.  Both have long, ropy hair, both have the exact same oak and acorn headdress on their brows, they have identical torcs around their necks, hold identical torcs in their right hands, and grasp identical horned serpents in their left.  They even have the same pointed finger and toenails.

In short, I think that either Maxine has some artwork out there that became this sculpture or someone else was ‘highly inspired’ by her work and created it from elements of her published pieces.

That being said…I’d still probably purchase this piece.  Right now, it wouldn’t have much of a place in my personal practice, though I’d probably make it a focal point of my altar surrounding the Beltane season.  I think that if I did end up purchasing Maxine Miller’s plaques for use in a future Covenstead situation, I’d certainly buy this piece as well, and maybe permanently display all three together.  At any rate, it’s some food for future thought.

Leave a Reply

