My Pentacle

I have been talking about my tool acquisitions an awful lot this year, what with my athame mishaps and my quest for my own Holy Grail, but I’ve neglected to share a bit about my other tools, the story behind them, and what they mean to me.

My own sweet little pentacle

This is my pentacle, which I suppose is the third tool I’ve used as a pentacle.  The first was an onyx bowl I bought when I toured England as a teenager.  By the time I went to college, I’d fashioned myself a pentacle that actually had a pentacle on it from a round wooden plaque base I got at a craft store.  I stained it a rich cherry wood color, then painted a silver star on it with craft paint.  Then I added leaves with a couple green craft paints (actually, I modeled it off this patch).  It was pretty, and I really liked it.  But when I moved back home after college to sleep in the living room for a year, I knew I wouldn’t be able to take it with me.  So I left it with Natalie, and ended up leaving it permanently.

When I committed to the University of Oregon, though, I got myself this plate from alexmmr at Etsy (shop now closed).  I bought it on July 26, 2008 but never mentioned it here, most likely because I broke my foot in early August, got overwhelmed with moving plans and fighting with my employer, and spent oodles of time doing work and activities with my mother before the big move.

At any rate, this pentacle is about as close as it gets to my ideal.  It was made by putting four colors of clay together, then spinning them on a potters wheel to make a plate.  Then, Alex used a resist technique to make the pentacle pattern on the face.  The glaze pulled away from the resist in firing, which means the star itself is actually unglazed clay:  pure earth.  I’m also very fond of the brown glaze, which further anchors this as an ‘earth’ tool for me.  More importantly, the glaze lets me draw any wax sigils I want on the plate without ruining the surface itself, which was a concern with my wood pentacle.

The only slight dissatisfaction I have with the piece is its size.  At just under 6 inches in diameter, it’s small, and can’t really hold much.  Still, it happily gets the job done for just li’l old me.

Leave a Reply

