The Breadth Exams are OVER! (Sort of.)

A view of the dunes just before the beach in Florence, Oregon

Freedom.  It’s so good, I can practically taste it.  Now that I’ve written the breadth exams and have the oral portion to look forward to after Thanksgiving break, I feel like I have all the time in the world.  I don’t have to stay locked in Eugene next to my Kindle and the library.  I can do things.  Real things.  Things that people with real lives can do.

So today I slept in, then moseyed leisurely over to Florence to spend the day enjoying the Oregon coast.  I’ve lived in this state for three full years now, and you know how many times I’ve been to the coast?  Three.  One of the most beautiful shorelines in the world, and I all but ignore it.

Alas, by the time I got to Florence around 2:30 pm, I could tell the sun was already well into its descent.  (Foiled by daylight savings time!)  I also had plans back in Eugene at 7, so my “day at the shore” was really more like a couple of hours.  But I spent that time frolicking in the waves and wishing I had a swim suit.  The water was cold…but I could have dealt with it!  I was high on feelings of invincibility!

A sand dollar just beneath a receeding wave.Why did I go to the coast?  Well, for as much as my family will attest to the fact that I hate beach vacations, I love beaches.  And I love them because I feel so strongly connected to the Gods there.  So much force, so much potential…it is divine.  I went to the coast so that I could give thanks–so much thanks–for not only the gift of getting through the tests, but through getting them almost stress-free, and for feeling like I’d actually done something well at the end of it all.  That was not how I would have naturally felt at that point, and it was a true gift that I did.

I also felt like I could recharge my admittedly diminished spiritual batteries there:  the beach is a place where I can almost effortlessly ground and center.  It was a glorious day (okay, few hours).

Most appropriately, I found a lot of sand dollars there.  I’ve never had much luck finding sand dollars before, but without even trying I found six whole ones.  I took them home to clean them up and give them to my covenmates.  These little natural pentacles are nice in water energy work, I find.

Leave a Reply

