Day 199: Elementals, Salamander Offerings

As with day 196, today’s task its to visit the place revealed in yesterday’s guided meditation and make an offering to the salamanders to assure they become good magical partners.  Here is Roderick’s suggestion:

What You’ll Need

  • A cup of red wine (or a red fruit juice)
  • A piece of a baked good

When you first arrive at the place of the salamanders, sit on the ground and close your eyes.  Imagine the salamanders gathering, popping up from the ground as small flames, watching you.  Open your eyes and pour out a cup of wine.  Grasp the filled cup and baked good in your hands.  Hold your arms out, to shoulder level, offering the food to the spirits.  Cast your gaze to the ground (a respectful gesture), saying:

Salamanders of flame, Lord Djin,
Accept this offering of food and drink!
May the magic that I do be aided by your powers,
The powers of life that were, that are, and that shall be,
So Mote it Be!

Leave the baked good on the ground and pour the wine over it, saying:

From east to west, from south to north,
Ancient ones, I call thee forth!

Quickly gather your belongings and leave this enchanted spot. Return only when you wish to contemplate the salamanders or if you wish to invoke their magical energies for some purpose.

And as with the sylph offering, I modified this.  I wasn’t able to go out to the buttes, but I did run out to our yard I went out and skipped around for awhile and ran after the chickens.  I really moved my body around and built up a bit of a sweat.  Then I lit a small candle in my room and said:

Salamanders of the flame, Lord Djin, I summon you.
Accept this offering of fire and spark.
I give this in thanks of your aid in my past magic
and hope you will answer my call in future works.
Enjoy this offering, and depart!
So mote it be.

I think the little Charmanders appreciated it!  Given that I sleep on an electric mattress pad now for extra heat in my very cold house, I really hope they departed after they enjoyed!

Leave a Reply

