Day 187: Becoming Water

What You’ll Need:

  • A 5-6 inch blue taper candle
  • Water oil
  • Water incense
  • Bowl of water

To begin, light a blue candle and sit down facing the west.  Place the bowl of water in front of you and the lighted blue candle behind that.  With your middle finger, dab a drop of water oil at approximately the center of your chest, at the level of the heart chakra.  Light the water incense and gather some of the wafting smoke into your hands and bring your hands toward your face.  Repeat this elemental cleansing with water energies twice more.

Now, focus your attention on the water in the bowl before you.  Allow your breathing to become deep and rhythmic.  Allow your mind to become the water.  Feel your body become fluid.  Imagine that the place where you sit flows and undulates like the tides.  Focus intently so that nothing exists but water.  Stay focused, preferably 20-30 minutes.

When you are done, take time to close your eyes and imagine that your water-body solidifies and becomes stable once again.  Get down on your hands and knees and place your forehead to the floor to ground and center your personal energy.

When you are ready, open your eyes and stretch.  Take time to journal about your experience or to discuss it with a friend.

My water meditation setup

I’m still feeling icky from the cold, and that means that I didn’t have very high expectations for this meditation going in.  To try to combat the initial reluctance, I decided to put a little more effort into the ‘becoming’ setup than I usually do.  I swept my floors with my besom, envisioning a clearing of energy.  Then I spread out a blue cloth in front of my book case and set my zafu in front of it so that I would be facing west.  I anointed the blue candle with the water oil and chose an appropriate stick incense.  I also didn’t go with any old bowl, but with one from my Yamane Seigan hagi pottery collection.  I enjoy using hagi pieces with watery-focused things because the liquid slowly seeps into the pottery itself.  This potter also does blue work better than anyone else, and they are just like looking at water even if there is none to be found.  I decided to float an orange flower in the water for the contrast and to highlight the fact that there was actually water in the bowl.

Funnily enough, once I began the mediation, it took me very little time to actually sink into a meditative mindset.  Immediately I became very aware of my circulation–fitting enough as my blood is the water of my body–and the pumping of my heart set my upper body swaying just a bit.  Within a minute or two of my mind clearing, it spontaneously filled with a favorite old Wiccan chant:

We all come from the Goddess
And to her we shall return
Like a drop of rain
Flowing to the ocean

Suddenly it made sense that water is the element of compassion, connectivity, cycles, and understanding.  It is the fabric that binds life together.  It fills our cells, no matter what sort of life we are, and forms the background for all our different chemical reactions that make different organisms unique.  It’s one of the base things we all have in common and which makes us empathize with all the life around us.

Leave a Reply

