Day 186: Water, Incense and Oil

Water Incense

Burn this incense any time that you want to bring about the energies of the element of water, which include:  intuition, dreams, visions, cycles, peace, compassion, understanding, spirituality, and women’s mysteries.

What You’ll Need:

  • One handful of powdered sandalwood
  • 4 tablespoons myrrh (preferably powdered)
  • 1/2 teaspoon lemon zest
  • 1/2 teaspoon poppyseed
  • 10 drops jasmine essential oil
  • Vegetable glycerin

Place your powdered sandalwood in a medium-sized bowl.  Stir in about two tablespoons of vegetable glycerin, adding one tablespoon at a time and then mixing with a metal whisk or a fork.  As you have done before, create a soft, fluffy compound.  Do not add the second tablespoon of glycerin if it feels like it would be too much, causing the incense to be too moist.

Now add your essential oil and whisk.  Add your other dried herbs and mix thoroughly.  Wait for at least a day for the compound to settle before you sprinkle it on hot coals.

Water Oil

Anoint yourself or other people with this oil to activate the magical energies of water.

What You’ll Need:

  • Vegetable glycerin
  • 10 drops jasmine essential oil
  • 5 drops cucumber essential oil
  • Pinch of dried lemon zest or willow bark

Fill a one-ounce bottle halfway with vegetable glycerin.  Add plain water until the bottle is three-quarters full.  Add your essential oils.  Add your dry ingredient, close the lid, and shake the bottle.  You can use this magical oil immediately.

Water oil, complete with fun bits.

Funny, but I briefly considered making the incense today.  And then I realized that between my usual summer credit card debt and my medical bills, I’m very broke and I probably wouldn’t be burning much of this incense anyway.  I do, however, have most of the ingredients for the oil on hand.

The one I’m lacking is–of course–the cucumber essential oil.  Why?  Because there is no such thing.  Granted, there is a cold-pressed oil called “cucumber seed oil”, but the only online vendors I can find for it are of the sketchy Indian website variety.  It’s also prohibitively expensive, and you must buy drums of the stuff.

What I did instead was add a pinch of dried lemon peel that I’ve got for culinary purposes and a pinch of poppyseed to 10 drops of jasmine oil and 3 drops of lemon oil.  (I have to admit, I was tempted to use lemongrass oil since I love that scent, but lemongrass is an air plant.)  Then I topped off my ounce bottle with a glug of Sweet Almond oil.  I find the overall scent very pleasing–very floral, obviously, but not noxiously so–and I love the appearance of all the ‘bits’ in the oil when you shake it up.

Leave a Reply

