Day 177: Becoming Fire

I guess it’s about time that I picked up where I’d left off in the 366.  On day 176, I made a fire oil to be used in today’s practice, and I sort of shrugged off the incense.

What You’ll Need:

  • Several red taper candles or
  • A fire pit filled with branches and other kindling
  • Fire oil
  • Fire incense

To begin, create a bonfire in a safe area, if possible.  If this does not fit your circumstances, light several red candles and then sit facing south, with the candles in front of you.  (If you are working with a bonfire, light the branches aflame and sit while simultaneously facing the fire and south.)  Using your middle finger, dab a drop of fire oil approximately two inches below your navel, at the level of the solar plexus chakra.  Light fire incense and gather some of the wafting smoke into your hands and bring your hands toward your face.  Repeat this elemental cleansing with fire twice more.

Focus your attention on the flickering, dancing flames before you.  Allow your breathing to become deep and rhythmic.  Continue to focus intently upon the flame, barring all other thoughts.  Allow your mind to become the flame.  Feel your body become the flame.  Feel the place where you sit become the flame.  Focus intently so that nothing exists but fire.  Stay focused, preferably for 20-30 minutes.

When you are done, take time to close your eyes and imagine that your fire body solidifies and becomes stable once again.  Get down on your hands and knees and place your forehead to the floor to ground and center your personal energy.

When you are ready, open your eyes and stretch.  Take time to journal about your experience or to discuss it with a friend.

I decided that since today is gloomy and rainy (not to mention my housemate Sequoia has packed our house with millions of guests for her upcoming wedding), candles would be a better way to go for this exercise today.  I left off several and used one, though.

It took me awhile to get into the meditation.  In fact, I eventually had to move from a seated position on my floor facing south to my chair and desk, which face west.  Still, though, I eventually sank into the contemplation.  I never really became the flame, though.  I could picture myself as the wax and wick the flame was consuming or their transformed compounds and soot in the air…but I couldn’t be the force itself.  After awhile, I sort of realized that fire is not really a thing in itself such as earth and air and water are, but a process.  Chemically, it’s combustion:  chemicals breaking apart.  It’s transformation, and as such, it’s not something I can be fully.  It is a verb and I am a noun, if that makes any sense.  I don’t have the perspective of actions: even if I can perform them, I am not them.

Leave a Reply

