Day 176: Fire, Incense and Oil

Fire Incense

Burn fire incense any time that you want to bring about the energies of the element of fire, which include:  action, movement, passion, anger, strength, sexuality, achievement, mastery, power, and transformation.

What you’ll need:

  • One handful of powdered sandalwood
  • 2 tablespoons myrrh
  • 2 tablespoons dried angelica leaves
  • 2 tablespoons dried bay leaves
  • 5 drops bay leaf essential oil
  • 5 drops cinnamon essential oil
  • Vegetable glycerin

In a medium-sized bowl, place your powdered sandalwood.  Stir in about two tablespoons of vegetable glycerin.  Add the glycerin, one tablespoon at a time, and then mix with a metal whisk or a fork.  You simply want to create a soft, fluffy compound.  Do not add the second tablespoon of glycerin if it feels like it would be too much, causing the incense to be too wet.

Now add your essential oils and whisk.  Add your other dried herbs and mix thoroughly.  Wait for at least one day for the compound to settle before you sprinkle it on hot coals.

Fire Oil

Anoint yourself or other people with this oil to activate the magical energies of fire.

What you’ll need:

  • Vegetable Glycerin
  • 5 drops cinnamon essential oil
  • 5 drops clove essential oil
  • 3 drops bay leaf essential oil
  • Pinch of dried clove or cinnamon.

Fill a one-ounce bottle halfway with vegetable glycerin.  Add plain water until the bottle is three-quarters full.  Add your essential oils.  Add your dry ingredient.  Close the lid and shake the bottle.  You can use this magical oil immediately.

My modified Fire Oil

As per usual, I eschewed making the fire incense.  When I do the exercise tomorrow, I’ll just vaporize some cinnamon or clove oil with my oil warmer instead.

When I turned to make the fire oil, though, I had to take pause.  I didn’t have any bay oil!  It was something I totally thought I had in my oil box, so I didn’t even bat an eye when preparing my ‘shopping list’ for this batch ages ago.  So then I went to all the Eugene stores looking for some, and couldn’t find it anywhere!  What I did have in abundance, however, was bay leaves.  So I curled up one of those and dropped it into the bottle along with a whole clove.  (Which you could probably make out in the picture if you could.  The clove is floating in the top right of the bottle.)

Aside from exchanging the vegetable glycerin with my preferred Sweet Almond oil base and using the bay leaf though, I followed the oil formulary as directed.  Clearly, it smells very ‘spicy’–almost exactly like ‘Red Hots’ candies.  I tried a little on my skin earlier as both cinnamon and clove oils can be irritating, especially when undiluted, but it doesn’t appear as though the 10 drops in 1 ounce is enough of a concentration to trigger a reaction.  Score!

Leave a Reply

