Day 156: Fall Equinox, Alternate Action

What You’ll Need

  • 5 lengths of white ribbon (at least 6 inches long and 1 inch wide)
  • A felt-tipped pen

Consider the five actions you have taken over the course of the year.  How might you have done things differently?  For each action, consider what alternative action you might have taken.  Use the felt-tipped marker to write your alternative actions, one on each ribbon.  Tie the corresponding alternative-action ribbons to each of the action sticks.  As you attach each ribbon, consider how the alternative action might have affected the outcome.  What might your life be today if you had taken any one of these alternative actions.

What could I have done differently?

I am slightly troubled to learn that I seem to see life in an action/inaction dichotomy.  For each of the actions I did pursue, it seems that the ‘alternative’ was, well, in cation.  I could have stopped trying to help me love myself and others.  I could have dropped out of school.  I could have just kept fantasizing about raising chickens.  I could have ignored my family.  I could have just stayed lazy about my pagan practices.

My life would be so dismally empty if I had just done nothing.  I’d probably still be working as a secretary in the midwest–or maybe Pennsylvania now–maybe deciding to get certified to teach high school or trying to break into publishing.  I don’t see myself being with anyone, and I think I’d either have lost myself in my family or completely broken with them altogether.  I don’t think I’d have much to look forward to.

My life isn’t perfect now, but I’m very happy with what I’ve been able to reap out of it so far.

The finished action/alternative star

Leave a Reply

