And now, an intermission

Oh man oh man oh man.  Today I sat down to review some of the upcoming days in the 366 project, and I sort of went numb inside.  It’s not that these activities are silly or anything, or even that they’re all that taxing.  It’s just…I’m busy.  Probably more busy than I’ve been the past three years of graduate school combined.  This term is positive sick with projects, and it doesn’t help that both of my professors want papers exceptionally early.  And then there’s the orals/quals crunch.  And then there’s the whole sleep deprivation thing (I teach or sit for class at either 8:30 or 9 Monday through Thursday, which means I wake up somewhere between 5:30 and 6 everyday…and it’s really hard to get to bed before 11.  I’m not doing well on 5 or 6 hours of sleep).

I’m really only surviving by continuing to go through the motions, and I realized that I’d be doing that with the 366 if I continued right now.

So I’m giving myself permission to take a break.  I’m going to try to update fairly regularly with some reference posts and things I’m observing in my life.  What’s really funny is that these posts are often longer than my 366 posts, but they take less time over all to perform, reflect upon, and write up.  It’s probably not going to look like I’m scaling back but I am.  And that is more important right now than scaling back on school.  After all, if I do that, I’m out of a job!

Leave a Reply

