Day 152: Day of Silence and Review

As you observe silence today, focus your attention on your sense of sight.  This may be difficult to do for extended periods of time, so throughout your day, find 10-20 minute intervals during which you will be able to focus your attention on what it is you see.  During and in between intervals, remain silent.  When the day is complete, answer these questions:

  • What was it like to focus my attention on my sense of sight?
  • In what way did my visual focus impact my thoughts, emotions, actions, or spirit?
  • How does what I see affect my physical energy?
  • Did my visual acuity increase or decrease with my focused attention?  Why might that be?

Review
For today’s practice, take time to ask yourself the following:

  • Of the information I have learned up to now, what stands out as most vital?
  • What information seems least relevant to my spiritual development?
  • Which of the practices seemed to move me spiritually, and which had little impact?
  • Of the information I have learned so far, what would be best to review?

Oh man…I’m sure it’s because I’m so stressed with school, but focusing on my sight was pretty painful.  It’s pretty visual, what I do, and when I really focused on my sight, I just felt so tired.  The only way I’m surviving right now is to just push through the pile and not think about all of it too much.  Focusing on what I really saw was almost paralyzing…and that was very draining to my spirit and my physical energy.  Of course, my visual acuity increased with my focused attention…but focusing my attention was almost too much to bear right now.

It’s not a 100% happy world that I live in right now.

Of the information I have learned, I think that centering and grounding and other visualizations and meditations remain the most vital.  I can’t do anything really worthwhile without them, and when I go without grounding for too long, I get overwhelmed.  It helps keep me me.  Least relevant…well, I see that last review I said the incense making activities, and I think I have to agree.  Being very particular with woods and resins isn’t “spiritual” for me.  What is moving me more spiritually, though, are envisioning and executing some larger working.  Activities like making and burning the sun wheel were really important for me, though I might not have recognized it at the time.

What should I review?  Grounding.  I think that if I did nothing for a week but work on grounding in the same way at the same time every day, I’d be a much better person for it.

Leave a Reply

