Day 146: Lammas, Incense and Oil

I had thought about not making up the incense this time around, too, but I wanted an excuse to experiment a little.  Why did I want to experiment?  Well, I recently found a source who mentioned that she used her coffee grinder to grind resins, which I’d been told gums up the machine.  I decided to experiment and–lo and behold–the coffee grinder ground the frankincense resin beautifully in about 10  seconds with no mess at all.  I did grind the oats along with the frankincense.  This may have helped, but probably not appreciably.

Lammas Incense
Burn this incense at your Lammas ritual, or at any time that you want to bring about the energies and insights of Lammas.

  • 1/2 handful of oak (wood), either powdered or chips
  • 1/2 handful of powdered sandalwood
  • 2 teaspoons frankincense
  • 1 teaspoon dried oats (such as rolled oats for oatmeal
  • Vegetable glycerin
  • 5 drops patchouli essential oil
  • 2 drops rosemary essential oil

In a medium-sized bowl, place your powdered sandalwood.  Stir in about 2 tablespoons of vegetable glycerin.  Add the glycerin one tablespoon at a time and then mix with a metal whisk or fork.  You simply want to create a soft, fluffy compound.  Do not add the second tablespoon of glycerin if it feels like it would be too much, causing the incense to be too wet.

Now add your essential oils and whisk.  Add your other dried herbs and mix thoroughly.  Wait for at least a day for the compound to settle before you sprinkle it on hot coals.

Lammas Oil
Use this oil to anoint attendees of your Lammas ritual.  You can also use this oil any time that you want to awaken the insights and mysteries of Lammas.  This oil activates the magical energies of giving, prosperity, abundance, and riches.

  • vegetable glycerin
  • 5 drops patchouli essential oil
  • 2 drops rosemary essential oil
  • Pinch of dried oak (powdered or chipped wood) or dried oats (such as rolled oats for oatmeal)

Find a one-ounce bottle.  Fill the bottle halfway with vegetable glycerin.  Add plain water until the bottle is three-quarters full.  Add your essential oils.  Add dry ingredients.  Close the lid, and shake the bottle.  You can use this magical oil immediately.

Ground frankincense and oats, whole frankincense and oats, and the essential oils

I think my biggest issue with Roderick’s incenses has been that they’re largely like wood smoke to me.  It’s a problem when my ritual space is also my primary living space and even more questionable when you live with 20 people who are all wondering “is the house burning down?!” every time you try to circle.

So I did away with the woods entirely with this incense.  I probably used 1 1/2 teaspoons of oats and about 2 teaspoons of frankincense.  I also omitted the glycerin.  About 6 drops of patchouli and about 4 of the rosemary made it into the mix, too.  I cut the oil into the powder with my ‘candle knife’ and fluffed it all up.  I did let it dry for a few hours before I sampled it.  Unsurprisingly, it smells predominantly of frankincense with a bit of a ‘burnt leaves’ edge.

Lammas Oil: I hope the oats won't clog the dropper!

I also altered the oil.  As with my previous oils, I eschewed the vegetable glycerin in favor of real oil.  I had intended to buy some jojoba this time around, but the price made me swoon ($26 a pint!), so I picked up more of my sweet almond standby.

The scent is very nice.  The rosemary cuts the patchouli so that the net effect is complicated and intriguing rather than “dirty hippie.”

Leave a Reply

