Day 141: Lammas, Meditation

Wow.  I can’t believe the last time I picked up my 366 exercises was almost a full month ago.  I’ve been posting pretty regularly in that interim, and have done a lot of living and learning independent of it.  I could probably stand for a dose of guided activity, though, so it’s back to the workbook for me.

My front yard as it looks today

When last I focused on the Lughnassadh work, the last of the snowdrops were blooming in my front yard and were competing with the crocuses.  Since then, both have passed on.  Daffodils have come and are almost gone, and the tulips have arrived in full force.  All this heady spring makes it hard to think of harvest when all I want to do is lay in the sun and have fun.

Thinking about harvest and ripening grain and all that imagery is about as far away from what I want to do as I can get.  But that is the exercise for today:  a meditation on becoming a ripening field of wheat and becoming part of the giving of that gift of sustenance.

It’s a nice meditation, and I recorded it on GarageBand so that I could meditate on it at my own leisure.  Of course, it took just a couple of seconds to realize that I could probably upload the file somewhere on the Internet and figure out how to play it through this site!  As it turns out, the process was quite easy.  Now I just have to hope SoundCloud doesn’t fall of the face of the electronic world.

Close your eyes and take several deep breaths.  Imagine that you become weightless.  You drift in the air and soon you feel your spirit body moving through time and space.  Vague images and colors flash past you as you move speedily.

Soon the movement stops and you find yourself in a field of ripening wheat.  You stand in the field with the waving golden crowns brushing against your body.  Begin to breathe deeply and you will notice with each exhalation, your body dissolves and becomes part of this wheat field.  Imagine yourself, your energy, and your consciousness spread now across the entire wheat field.  Feel your wheat-body flow and shudder in the rushing wind.

Soon you notice that farmers come with sickles and they begin to harvest your body.  There is no pain in this experience–there is only the giving of your body freely, as nature always does.  Do not hold back; imagine that you give of your wheat-body freely to those who reap.  After some time has gone by, imagine that the wheat that made up your body is now being threshed and stored in great heaps.  Imagine now the women of the village coming to you and taking of your body to make bread.  Give of yourself wholly.  Allow yourself to be one with the grain and one with the giving.

When you are ready, your consciousness collects and solidifies.  Your spirit body now travels back through time and space quite rapidly.  You are returning to the place where you began this journey.  Once you feel yourself back fully to your physical body, wiggle your toes and fingers to awaken your full presence.

When you have completed the exercise, open your eyes and take time to journal about this experience:

  • What was it like to dissolve and become the wheat field?
  • What was it like to give so fully of your spirit body?
  • How can you use the insights you have learned in this meditation in your daily life?

It was surprisingly peaceful to dissolve and become the wheat field, as if it was the most natural thing in all the world.  I was the wheat; the wheat was me, and that was all.  No rush.  No drama.  Just being.  And the wheat was strong.  It tossed in the wind and gave and played with the strongest gusts.  I felt like nothing but tornado-force winds could uproot me:  knock me about, surely, but never do me any real harm.  It was powerful strength.

Giving of myself, allowing myself to be harvested and shared was surprisingly natural, too.  It was a fun few moments having myself cut at the base–no pain at all–and uplifted.  I was given new perspective as I was hauled together into bundles, and it was fun to be shaken about and turned to and fro.  As I was ground and became loaves of bread, I could actually feel my body flattening and contracting and shifting into something new and wholesome.  This sense of total grace pervaded my entire being.

As far as insights go, I think I benefited from experiencing that sense of grace.  That is the feeling I want to access when I say grace over my own meals–the sense I want to experience of being part of a cycle.  Immediately, I benefited from feeling that strength against the wind.  Maybe one little stalk of mine could be damaged, but collectively we stood strong against something that could be dangerous–a force that pressed upon us and made us react against it.  I felt a strength that I hadn’t realized had been beaten out of me over the past six or eight weeks.  It was a good feeling.

Leave a Reply

