Gemstone: Carnelian

Y. is truly a thoughtful, wonderful man.

Just before Circle last night, Y. slipped me a beautiful little carnelian necklace he picked up at this year’s Pantheacon saying that when he saw it, he knew it would be something I would enjoy.

Y. really is beyond thoughtful, and I hope he knows how much I appreciate his gift.

What Y. doesn’t know is that carnelian is one of my favorite stones.  Back around the time I first learned about Wicca–which roughly corresponded with the beginning of high school for me–my grandmother gave me a carnelian and silver bracelet.  It meant a lot to me simply because of that alone, but I also wore it as a private token of my new faith and spirituality.  I wore it every single day afterward for six years.  It’s now resting at the bottom of Shoe Lake, a casualty of a swim accident.  I’ve not worn carnelian since.

Something tells me, though, that Y. may have a witchy ulterior motive for slipping me this necklace.  Carnelian is know for bringing a little bit of joy to life, stirring up courage and motivation, as well as increasing sensuality and tapping into love.  It’s a good negativity banisher all around.  As my favorite gem reference manual Love is in the Earth (really, could Melody have given it a sillier title?) notes:

This mineral stimulates analytical capabilities and precision.  It provides for perceptiveness to situations and awakens ones inherent talents and adroitness.  It is also used to produce inspiration from, and connected-ness with, the spiritual worlds.

It protects against envy, fear, and rage, and helps to banish sorrow from the emotional structure.

It further assists in providing for awareness of the association between the emotional state and the inner condition of the self.

It provides an energy conducive to the stabilization of energy in the home.  It provides, also, a strong, yet tender energy when used in the mode of retreat.  The message of carnelian is that since one is love, there is nothing to do but to offer the love–each offering of love bringing an exponential increase in the quantity of love returned.  Pink carnelian, especially, can encourage love between parents and children, and between parents and parents.

Carnelian stimulates inquisitiveness and subsequent initiative.  It can be used to dispel apathy, indolence, and passivity.

Really, carnelian couldn’t be better for a procrastinatrix of a scholar  who often feels sloppy and has absolutely no joy for life when she has to buckle down and produce work.  That Y.’s a smart cookie.  He also knows me eerily well.

Tumbled Carnelian Gemstones

As a form of chalcedony, carnelian also taps into the energies of chalcedony and agate (described in my chrysoprase and blue lace agate entries).  It can also be used to clear negativity from other gemstones or for giving a clearing action when directing any contained negative energy.  It’s useful in work on the first through the fourth chakras, and can help increase physical energy, personal power, creativity, and compassion.

Leave a Reply

