Day 134: Summer Solstice, Stone Waters

Today, Roderick introduces the concept of ‘stone water’, which–unlike stone soup–is not a collaborative exercise in culinary creativity.  Essentially, you just take a stone, mineral, or gem of the properties you desire, pop it into a jar of water, then pop the jar onto a windowsill to steep in the power of the sun or the moon, depending on the energies you desire.  I’m of the mind that this is an excellent solar activity because the sun undeniably steeps matter into pure water.  Remember making sun tea?  Remember how it was the best darn iced tea you ever had–summer in a glass?  Yup, that was the solar energy.

Apparently we have the early Celts to thank for the practice of infusing stone energy into water as they’d boil quartz and use the infuse as a healing potion.  Roderick asks us to tweak the practice to make a stone water a bit more keyed to the sun.

What you’ll need:

  • A small clear-glass container
  • A small piece of topaz or a piece of gold

The method is simple. Hod the small topaz or the piece of gold up to the first rays of the sun.  Imagine that your mineral absorbs the sun’s rays.  Next, set the stone into a small clear glass container of water.  Place the container with the crystal on a window ledge where the sun can shine on it all day long.  At the end of the day, remove the stone and drink the water.  As you do this, you will absorb the energies of the sun.

The memories that linger and the ones we cherish most are those of Delta Gamma let us rise and sing our tooooooast!

Funny, but after I got my jar all filled up with water, I realized I didn’t have any topaz in my (embarrassingly extensive) rock collection.  A quick peek through my jewelry box revealed that I’m not a big fan of gold jewelry either.  I had just two pieces: my mother’s wedding ring and my sorority pin.  Frankly, with my parents’ divorce looming on the horizon, I didn’t want to be imbibing any residual energies from that jewelry, so I turned to my sorority pin which, really, has nothing but good memories for me.

Yes, I am a sorority girl.  No, that does not mean I was a sorostitute.  Great Greek systems are much more about solidarity, community, and sisterhood than they are about short skirts.

Anyway, I charged my pin and popped it into the water early in the morning.  When I came back home later in the evening, I debated whether or not to drink the water–after all, how ‘sun charged’ did I want to be at night?  Curiosity won out, though, and I downed the pint.

I think that perhaps energy work sometimes give us just what we need.  I felt just productive enough after drinking the sun water to proactively tackle my evening workload and have restorative sleep afterward.  All in all, a very nice magical technique to have under one’s belt.

Leave a Reply

