Gemstone: Rhodonite

Tumbled rhodonite

Maybe its been all the love work that I recently did in Roderick’s Beltane exercises, but I’ve been drawn to playing with my pink stones.  And I do mean actually playing:  I just pick them up and worry them about a bit.  This is basically just three stones:  my rose quartz, my rhodochrosite, and my rhodonite.  Frankly, the rhodochrosite is my favorite, but I’ve got a soft spot for the rhodonite, too, as its combination of black and pink reminds me of a great granite boulder my brothers and I played on as children.

Random nostalgia aside, Rhodonite is a manganese inosilicate, which gives it the chemical formula of MnSiO3, but it might also include iron, magnesium, or calcium, which gives it the variable formula of (Mn, Fe, Mg, Ca)SiO3.  A zinc-heavy rhodonite variety is called fowlerite.  A closely related mineral, bustamite, chemically incorporates nearly as much calcium as manganese.  I’m pretty sure this was a rock formed under geologic pressure rather than volcanic activity, but I don’t really know about that.

According to Love is in the Earth, the metaphysical properties of this rock largely have to do with love and balance:

This mineral can create a clear path to balance the yin-yang energy, synthesizing the qualities of attunement with the spirituality of the universe, and balancing the energies of the Earth plane.  It can help one to attain calm assurance in all activities.

Rhodonite has been called a “stone of love” and helps one to achieve his/her greatest potential.  It activates and energizes the heart chakra and conveys the resonance of unconditional love to the physical plane.

It is also excellent for stimulation, clearing, and activation of the heart chakra, while providing for grounding of the physical and mental energies at the same time.  It can assist one in the attainment of one’s “greatest potential”, dispelling anxiety and promoting coherence during chaotic encounters.

It further assists one in recognizing and in implementing the actions required to encourage and to further the “brotherhood” of humanity, stimulating the serving aspects of ones nature and encouraging generosity of spirit.  It helps one to understand that each individual possesses a relationship to a structure of meaning which can be fulfilled.

It dispels anxiety and promotes coherence, bringing to the user and observant nature and facilitating attention to details and interrelationships.

Leave a Reply

