Gemstone: Chrysoprase

I started collecting gemstones a long, long time ago.  There was a period of time where I’d buy a different stone every time I went into a metaphysical supply shop.  I just counted my stones for the first time and realized I have 70 just sitting around in a bowl on my altar.

I started accumulating these stones primarily because I thought they were pretty and I liked the look of “the rock collection.”  So many of the books I was reading at the time also mentioned using stones in energy channeling or in spellwork, so I figured “I’d use them someday.”  Well, someday really never came.  I’ve been using other methods of energy channeling and–as we’ve already established–I’ve not been one for spellwork.  So I’ve largely forgotten how to use these stones.  In some cases, I’ve forgotten what the stone itself is.

Tumbled citron chrysoprase

That was the case with the stone that sparked today’s inquiry, citron chrysoprase.  I can pick out what most of my rocks are fairly easily, but I blanked every time I came to this highly opaque, pastel yellow-green rock.  I thought it might start with a C, but that was as close as I got.  Well, a few minutes of trawling through a gemstone dealer’s website got me a visual confirmation of the identification.  We’re definitely dealing with a case of chrysoprase.  Now, I say “a case” because this is a fairly unique presentation of chrysoprase.

Tumbled chrysoprase

As it turns out, the citron variety is most likely from Australia, where the chrysoprase is often found in sections that have a darker band on the outside of the formation, and the lighter stuff inside.  At any rate, no matter where it is from, chrysoprase is considered a cryptocrystalline form of silica.  In fact, it is considered a type of chalcedony which derives its green color from an incorporation of nickel.  Geologically, this puts it in the same family as the rest of the special chalcedonies (agate, carnelian, heliotrope/bloodstone, onyx), as well as to the other silica minerals, which includes quartz, flint, and jasper among other things.

My favorite metaphysical mineral reference book, Love is in the Earth , recognizes that chrysoprase “is actually an apple-green type of chalcedony”, and as such shares the metaphysical attributes of that stone.  Here’s what Melody lists for chalcedony:

Chalcedony is useful for balancing the energy of the body, mind, emotions, and spirit.

It is a stone to encourage “brotherhood” among all.  It symbolizes benevolence and good will, the benevolence stemming from the nurturing energy within the stone.  It alleviates hostilites, irritability, and melancholy.  It enhances generosity, responsiveness, and receptivity.

It can be used to improve the assimilation of minerals and to help combat build-up of materials in the veins.  It is said to cure varying forms of dementia, to rectify senility, and to increase mental stability.

In particular, though, chrysoprase itself is useful for:

balancing the yin-yang energy and for aligning the chakras with the ethereal plane.  It activates, opens, and energizes the heart chakra, bringing the energy necessary to the physical body, through the loving energy of the heart.

It instills a state of grace within the user, facilitating deep meditative states, compassion, and clemency.  It provides for non-judgmental attitudes, acceptance of others, acceptance of self, and savoir-faire.

Chysoprase helps one to recognize the trinity within oneself; assisting one in extricating oneself from states of imperfection.  It encourages the maximum beneficial outcome to situations and facilitates adaptability.  It can also help to heal a ‘broken heart’, enabling one to understand the patterns of growth.

It can reduce superiority or inferiority complexes and can confer fluency of speech with presence of mind.

It has also been used to encourage fidelity in business and personal affairs.

It has been used in the treatment of disorders of the heart, to increase the assimilation of Vitamin C, to increase ones dexterity, and to ameliorate frailty and infirmity.  It can also be used to treat the reproductive organs and to stimulate and increase in fertility [when consciously directed].

I wonder if other metaphysical reference books give chrysoprase and chalcedony these qualities?

Leave a Reply

