Day 91: Contemplative Day, Going Beyond Dream

Meditative Question:  What lies beyond the realm of dreams?
Symbolic Color:  Blue
Symbolic Direction:  West

I’ve been trying to become more conscious of my dreams.  I know, I know…it’s a bit of an oxymoron.  What I mean is that I very often don’t remember my dreams upon waking.  Even then, I only remember the last one I had…and usually I only remember it if I’m woken up in the middle of it.

Consequently, I’ve never really paid much attention to my dreams or attempted any dreamwork.  I’ve been trying to write my dreams down the minute I wake up, but so far that’s proven a bit much for my morning brain to accomplish.

Today Roderick asks us to question what lies beyond dreaming, and this is really difficult for a person like me who has trouble just making it to the dream.  He also asks “What have we become once we enter this realm?  Are we exactly as we know ourselves?  Or are we something else?”  I’d like to think we are us, but a better us…but I don’t really know.

Exercise:

To begin working with this contemplative question, find a comfortable, meditative sitting position in a quiet space facing the west.  Light a blue candles and sit approximately two feet away from the flame.

Next, cast your gaze upon the flickering candle and hold the question firmly in your abdominal area.  Breathe normally and maintain focus on the question for 20 to 30 minutes.

You may not arrive at a magically satisfactory conclusion in one sitting alone.  To manifest a greater depth of answer, it will be important to see this question as it actualizes in each of your daily activities.  Allow your body, mind, and spirit to become this question as you eat, sleep, work, and play.  Remember not to apply logic to the question.  Over time, a shift in your perception will take place and you will realize your answer.

I think I did a little better with this meditation than I have in contemplative questions past…but maybe that’s because I didn’t sleep well last night and I don’t have to fight my active mind quite as hard.  At any rate, I settled down, lit the flame, and held the question.  My body did twitch about, and I did my best to ignore its impulses, though I did give in to a few.  And, to my delight, I did feel an answer after some time.

I think it is our ancestors that lie beyond the realm of dreams.  By that, I don’t just mean the people we’ve loved and lost, but the energies of everyone and everything that lie beyond our conscious recognition.  A realm, perhaps, where time and space don’t matter.  Maybe this would be how we could be ourselves and not ourselves when we dream, for we are bridging both this realm and our linear one.

Leave a Reply

