Reiki! Reiki, Reiki, Reiki!

Well, today I did something I didn’t think I’d ever do.  I went to a reiki circle.

Reiki’s never been something I’ve been interested in.  In fact, before today I couldn’t have told you much about it other than it has something to do with manipulating energy and there’s a lot of charlatans associated with the practice.  Oh, and that Shivan Montar Balaris thinks it has to do with screaming “REIKI!” at people.

That it does not.  In fact, it was pretty quiet for the most part.  Sometimes the person being attuned got into small conversations with the practitioner’s, but that was about it.  It’s all about laying on of hands, really.  I was counseled to “scan” the body of the person in front of me by slowly moving my hands above them and paying attention to any sensations I felt in my palms, like heat or tingling.  That’s a signal that something there (or vaguely connected to there) needs work, so you rest your hands there and envision energy flowing out of your hands and into the area, clearing things up, moving energy around, etc.

There were several people there, and I was pretty out of my comfort zone, but I tried…and I think I did feel things.  After a bit of coaxing, I got on one of the tables and hand an attunement.

That was pretty cool.  There was one point where I totally gave into the energy flow, and it was amazing.  One of the women working on me said she was a clairsentient, and she got the feeling that I was struggling with a lot of information and asked if I was a student.  I suppose it could have been a good guess on her part–after all, I look pretty young yet and we were just a couple blocks from a college campus–but it struck me as pretty astute.  She also mentioned that my throat chakra was very tight, and that I was likely having issues expressing myself.

Right and right.  She also mentioned that I needed to have more fun and that she sensed a masculine energy that would help me with studies and fun.  I’d be down for that!

At any rate, the attunement was pretty cool.  They asked me to focus on what I thought a good student looked like and helped me find that energy, I guess.  At one point, the clairsentient woman said that I needed to trust myself–the information was there, I just need to let it come out.  That rang true.  I don’t trust my abilities, and I get into some serious jams because of it.

But when the session was over?  Wow.  I can’t remember the last time I felt so calm and energetic.  It’s pretty awesome.  I think I’ll go back when I can.

Leave a Reply

