Day 79: The Meaning of Imbolc

Imbolc is, in large part, about nourishment.  Milk and succor inform so much of the mythology surrounding the Sabbat, that it is important to integrate it into practice surrounding the holiday.  Today, Roderick asks us to “get in touch with whatever nourishes your soul.”  I’m sure everyone has something they dearly love to do that they leave behind to focus on things like careers, or family.  There are only so many hours in the day, after all.  Today, we return to our ‘really wants.’

Exercise:

It’s easy to lose track of what is important to us when we shift our attention to family, children, work, and responsibilities.  These are important, but it’s also important to make room for the things that bring you personal enjoyments–things that nourish your soul.  What are your favorite foods, hobbies, types of friends, clothing, etc.?  Make a comprehensive list of these items and attributes.  Once the list is complete, review it to see how many of the listed items are part of your life right now.  Check off the words that currently apply to your life and spend the day actualizing parts of the list.  Just do something that awakens your innate sense of joy and enthusiasm.

I’m passionate about Wicca.  I love to read.  I love friends who support me.  I love to cook.  I love to craft.  And I constantly fall down in my spirituality.  The books I want to read fall to the books I have to read.  I neglect and am neglected by the people I love.  I don’t cook near as much as I’d like, and the last time I crafted anything was months ago.

But I have been getting better.  I’ve renewed my study of Wicca, and I’ve been pretty concientous about it for a month–which is something.  I’ve recently spent the last week reading Isobel Bird’s Circle of Three series–which is about as non “Graduate Student” as it gets.  I’ve rediscovered my love for reading (just in time to fall into paper season).  I’ve been calling my friends more this past month, and I made some fantastic oatmeal cookies yesterday with apricots and pistachios.  I’m feeling much happier than I have in quite some time.

Leave a Reply

